Foundation Awards New Founders Scholarships

Published 9/18/2019

The Ammonia Refrigeration Foundation has awarded six new recipients of its Founders Scholarship.  

The six new award recipients were drawn from a pool of the largest number of excellent candidate applications in the Foundation’s history. These engineering students receiving grants from the Foundation to pursue engineering degrees.   

The new Founders Scholars are:

  • Hugh Gaevert - California Polytechnic State University
  • Samuel Koske - University of Missouri-Columbia
  • Savannah Augustine - Utah State University
  • Franklin Ragge - Massachusetts Maritime Academy
  • David Rodriguez Jr. - Purdue University - Fort Wayne
  • Adam Tilghman - University of Maryland Eastern Shore
  • Nicholas Vogel - Kansas State University
"The ARF scholarship I received over the summer of 2019 has had a significant impact on my studies here at Massachusetts Maritime Academy. After taking my refrigeration class last semester I took the state exam and obtained my EPA 608 refrigeration license. Receiving this scholarship has increased my interest in potentially joining the refrigeration work force upon my graduation here at Massachusetts Maritime Academy. I look forward to learning more about the refrigeration community and opportunities upon my attendance at the IIAR annual meeting in Orlando. I plan to get involved in refrigeration management in my future career."
   - Frank Ragge, Cadet First Assistant Engineer, Massachusetts Maritime Academy

“The IIAR Founders Scholarship has made (and will make) an incredible impact in my career as an engineering student. By receiving this award I am under less pressure to work extensive hours on top of my studies, and have avoided taking out student loans. This scholarship has also given me an incredible opportunity to connect with companies and learn more about the natural refrigeration industry at the IIAR Natural Refrigeration Conference and Heavy Equipment Expo this spring in Orlando. After I graduate, my hopes are to eventually make cheaper and safer ways to make ammonia/natural refrigeration a more widespread technology throughout the world.”
- Sam Koske, from The University of Missouri

The previously named and returning Founder’s Scholars are:

  • Colby M. Rapp – University of Missouri
  • Thomas Sauer – Pennsylvania State University 

Colby RappThomas Sauer

The scholarships that have so far been awarded by the Foundation are made possible by the philanthropic support by individuals, corporations and foundations eager to invest in the future of natural refrigeration.   

The Foundation renamed the engineering scholarship in 2017 to The Founders Scholarship in honor and memory of the Founding Fathers of the International Institute of Ammonia Refrigeration (IIAR) – George Briley, Chuck Hansen, Don Niederer and Bill Richards. The Founder’s Scholars will honor their legacy and significant contributions to the industry. The Founders Scholarship recipients are awarded each year to students exhibiting exceptional character and interest in pursuing and engineering or related technical degree leading to a career in the refrigeration field.
Interested in Scholarship information? Know Someone who could benefit from this opportunity?  It's never too early to submit your application for next year.

Interested in supporting the cause?